Phil Mickelson reports himself to officials after breaking rules again

by Theguardian

Five-time major champion tamped down grass obstructing playMickelson caused controversy with rule violation at US Open

Phil Mickelson broke the rules again, only this time he didn’t realise it until after his violation.

Mickelson tamped down grass with his foot in front of the seventh tee on Sunday at A Military Tribute at The Greenbrier in West Virginia. He then called a two-stroke penalty on himself for improving his line of play. Mickelson said he “wasn’t really thinking.” After stepping on the grass, he paused before he hit his tee shot, realized the mistake and checked with a rules official, who confirmed the violation.

After consulting a rules official, Phil Mickelson assessed himself a 2-stroke penalty for improving his line of play (violation of Rule 13-2).

Continue reading...

Disclaimer : All the information on this website is published for general purpose only, Sportz247 doesn’t guarantee about the content, sequence, reliability, accuracy and completeness of the information. We are not liable any damages in connection with the use of our website. Sportz247 may make changes to the materials or information described therein without prior notice.